Seven Sacraments in the Roman Catholic Church

Seven Sacraments

Roman Catholic Church believes in seven sacraments that should be followed by the members. Here is the brief information of the seven sacraments.

Om Catholic church, baptism is the first sacrament as the initiation as Christian. Baptism makes the person as a member of the church. Baptism believes to wash away all sins, even though the children donÆt have personal sins, they will need it because of the original sin (Adam and EveÆs sin in Eden).

The Sacrament of Confirmation is received for those who have been baptized and have reached the age of reason. If a person is baptized when he or she is adult, usually it will follow with the confirmation immediately. It is called confirmation because the purpose of this sacrament is to confirm and strengthen the grace of baptism.

Eucharist is very important for the Christian life since it is the source and the summit. When the children are already baptized and usually between seven to thirteen years old, they will have their first communion, which is the ceremony in which a Catholic receives the holy communion in the Eucharist. The Roman Catholic church believes that the bread and wine that is used in the Eucharist becomes the body and blood of Jesus Christ.

Sacrament of Penance
The Sacrament of Confession or also known as Penance is the sacrament where a Catholic can examine and confess their sins to the priest. Usually, Catholic Church will have the schedule of Confession before Easter and Christmas. But Catholics could go directly to meet the priest if they want to confess of their sins. The priest is bound to keep the secrecy about any sins that Catholics confess to him.

Sacrament of Anointing the Sick
This sacrament is given to those who are sick or in the old age. This sacrament will give courage, peace and forgiveness of sins.

Holy Orders
This sacrament is given by the bishops to bless and delegate some Catholics to be the clergy whether deacons, priests or bishops. A Catholic priest must be celibate or not marry.

Holy Matrimony
In the Catholic Church, the sacramental marriage will be given between baptized persons or any Christians denomination. Once the couple married in the Catholic church, they cannot be separated except by death. A divorce or remarriage are not permitted in Catholic Church except if there is an annulment of the marriage.

To summarize for the three initial sacraments of Catholics are Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist. The Sacrament of Confession should be done at least one of a year and not every Catholic will receive the Holy Orders. A Catholic marriage couldn’t be separated except by death.

[wpspw_post show_full_content=”true”]